James Carpino, PhD (’14)

James Carpino

Brian E. Ford, PhD (’15)

Websites: Homepage | ICM | Electron Micrographs
Email | LinkedIn | ResearchGate | Google Scholar

Brian E. Ford Brian joined the lab in January 2012. His doctoral dissertation included three projects: host-range expansion in the Pseudomonas bacteriophage Φ6, a non-genetic host factor affecting subsequent fitness in an RNA virus, and studying the host-virus arms race with its affect on host phenotype. Following his graduation in 2015, Brian joined the Mechano-Micro-Biology Lab as a post-doctoral researcher. He is currently a Research Associate at the Institute of Cellular Medicine at Newcastle University.


Glennon Bythrow (Fall ’13)
Sruti Patoori (Fall ’13)

Masters Students

Lauren A. Esposito, MS (’16) — Mt. Sinai Master of Public Health Program
Lauren A. Esposito
Gregory Lallos, MS (’13) — Senior Research Technician, NY Stem Cell Foundation
Gregory Lallos
Jinyu Li, MS (’11)
Bruce Sun, MS (’11) — Senior Research Technician, NY Stem Cell Foundation


Avi Bitterman (’11) — Thomas Jefferson Medical College
Elizabeth S. Chapler (’13) — Pace University PA Program
Jane Ching (’12) — University of Maryland School of Pharmacy
Stephanie Gampel (’12)
Daniel Grossman (’14)
Daniel Grossman
Swati Gupta (’15)
Swati Gupta
Lixing He (’15)
Lixing He
Jonathan Itzhakov (’15)
Sai Kappagantula (’09)
Kevin Jhun (’11) — Mt. Sinai Medical College PhD program
David Kim (’11) — Hunter College Epidemiology and Public Health
David Lee (’11)
Lauren Mordukhaev (’13) — Hofstra University Medical School
Rachelle Morgenstern (’13) — Columbia Univ School of Public Health
Kevin Mu (’13) — Cornell University Veterinary School
Svetlana Musheyev (’09) — NYU College of Dentistry
Qainat Shah (’15) — Mt. Sinai MPH Program
Qainat Shah
Rahat Shah (’15)
Rahat Shah
Shalini Singh (’11) — City College, CUNY
David Toubiyan (’15) — St. George’s University School of Medicine MD program
David Toubiyan
Aaron (Ari) Wadler (’15)
Aaron Wadler

High School Students

Samia Abedin (’14)
Daniel Arango (’12) — Queensborough Community College
Dipabali Chowdhury (’10) — Baruch Honors College
Alan Chu (’13)
Nimrod Gozum (’13) — Stony Brook University
Aneury Hernandez (’09) — University of Michigan
Ashraf Hussain (’10)
Shanawaj (Roy) Khair (’12) — Stony Brook University
Julie Kim (’09) — Carnegie Mellon University
Shajoti Rahman (’10) — Hunter College, CUNY
Debbie Sands (’10)
Katherine Valles (’10) — Fordham University
Lydia Wu (’09) — Sophie B. Davis School of Biomedical Education

Lab Manager

Marko Baloh (’16) — Texas A&M Doctoral Program
LinkedIn | ResearchGate
Marko Baloh

Visiting Scholars

Rafael Ovalle, PhD (’12-’15)